Week 4: D is for Dinosaurs (& Recap!)

MOM TEACH ME NYC

I admit, I’ve been behind with my weekly theme updates. Instead of posting a separate “Week 4 Recap”, I’m going to combine the weekly teaching plan with the books and activities that we used throughout the week.

This week, we looked at the letter D, and what kid doesn’t love dinosaurs?
20121014-223717.jpg
The vocabulary word of the week is extinct, and introduces the concept of something that no longer exists. I was wondering how my preschooler would interpret the word; at first she was convinced dinosaurs were still around because we see dinosaur bones at the museum, so I also had to explain the difference between animals that are alive and animals that are no longer alive. There are a few books that illustrated it way better than I did!

The dinosaur theme ties into the scientific theme that I plan to cover for the next few weeks: the…

View original post 283 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

